Drinking Alcohol and Carrying Scenario

OK, I am a noob to conceal carry and have a question concerning having a couple beers at dinner. Scenario: Let say me and the girlfriend take a road trip, stop for dinner, and I have a couple beers. What does one do with their firearm during the drive home? I know getting caught drinking alcohol and carrying is a for sure way to lose your permit, especially here in Maryland. Is it feasible to put the firearm in a lock box in the trunk, separating the magazine? Would that be an allowable solution without getting into “trouble” or would that not make a difference in the eyes of the law? To clarify, I’m not talking about getting drunk and driving. I’m referring to legal limit amount of beers. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

14 Likes

Welcome to the community.

You will get a variety of responses to your post - some you will disagree with.

I don’t drink when I am carrying. I don’t drink when I am driving. Between those two, I just don’t drink away from home.

You may want to determine which is more important to you - ensuring your safety or drinking “a couple beers.” I’m not saying your choice is right or wrong, but you need to make that choice and be able to articulate why you made that choice.

51 Likes

I found quitting drinking worked pretty well when I figured out my priorities.

37 Likes

Let me phrase my response this way: “If I have a beer or two away from home and decide to a. operate a vehicle, b. carry or possess a firearm or c. both; I am simply rolling the dice on my life and the lives of others and possibly throwing everything that I have worked for in my life into the waste bin.”

I’m moving closer and closer to giving up drinking alcohol in any form for the rest of my life personally. The world is fast becoming more and more dangerous in every place. Sobriety outweighs everything else in my book.