Discretionary Denials of CCW Permits in Shall Issue State by Sheriff

I have a CCW permit from KS (issued before KS was a Constitutional carry state) and a non-resident permit from NV where I took lots of classes at Front Sight.

I am a resident of CO and am starting the process of getting a CO permit. But, I’m nervous about my local sheriff’s authority to deny a permit application. Under CO statutes, even though the state is a “shall issue” state “if the sheriff has a reasonable belief that documented previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely the applicant will present a danger to self or others if the applicant receives a permit to carry a concealed handgun, the sheriff may deny the permit.” CRS 18-12-203(2) Essentially, CO is, as a practical matter, a “may issue” state thanks to this language, referred to as a discretionary denial.

The previous sheriff in my tiny rural county (pop about 25,000) led the state in discretionary denials and revocations, with more denials than Denver, El Paso, Pueblo, Douglas and Arapahoe counties combined. He had a reputation for denying permits to political opponents or those who supported his opponents in the last election. He would tell applicants who were denied that he believed they were dangerous, and if they didn’t agree, they could sue him in court. Of course, he had a free attorney in the form of the county attorney with an unlimited legal war chest thanks to the taxpayers. (BTW, he was also endorsed by the NRA.)

If my application is denied under the sheriff’s discretionary authority does the USCCA legal protections provide me with any recourse? Said differently, can I call on a USCCA lawyer to challenge the determination?

Good question. However, I will not be holding my breath awaiting USCCA’s answer

2 Likes