Cheers! Castle worker finds world's oldest whisky in Scotland

I thought some here might find this interesting. :slightly_smiling_face:

It was already a century old when it was hidden away more than ninety years ago. Now 40 bottles of the world’s oldest Scotch have been found during a clear-out of a castle’s cellars.

Cheers! Castle worker finds world’s oldest whisky in Scotland (msn.com)

4 Likes

eh… it probably already expired… :crazy_face: :crazy_face: :crazy_face:

1 Like

I used to work as a laborer doing demolition at Princeton University established in the late 1700.
It was interesting when we would find stuff left in the walls by construction workers.

3 Likes

Distilled in 1833, bottled in 1841, that sounds like 8 year old Scotch. My understanding is it can only get worse, not better once bottled. Maybe @Dave17 or @Craig6 can comment on this.

Regardless, I am sure the price at auction will be beyond ludicrous!

5 Likes

Thanks for that info. Due to the source, I did not read the story. Yes, distilled spirits, for the most part, will not improve with age, though an 8-year old Scotch is typically not harsh, less so, if it is peated. It would be interesting to know from which distillery, if it was a single malt. It is not likely that it is a single malt, though, as those were uncommon back then - blended Scotch was king.

What typically happens, when the bottle is standing up-right, is the cork gets dried-out, which allows air in and the Scotch evaporates. This is the reason wine is aged laying-down - to keep the cork moist. to prevent its drying out.

Several years or so ago I had a bourbon from the early 80s. The vessel it was in was ceramic, so I do not know how much was left in it, but it poured thick, like a 20-25 year old balsamic vinegar. It was a bit sweeter than a typical bourbon, but as it had evaporated, that made sense. It was actually still quite good. It made me wonder what it would have been like not damaged by evaporation.