Carrying at Work (residential trades)

Hi, I’m brand new to the gun owning community. I have been interested in guns for a while am an Eagle scout (so not completely unfamiliar around guns). I finally pulled the trigger on a purchase of my first gun (:laughing: sorry bad joke). Anyway I work in the residential trades so I’m in a out of people’s houses throughout the day. If I get a CCW permit (in Pennsylvania) do I have to inform the customer or employer that I am carrying? Is it legal in customers home’s? What would you recommend?
Thanks Alex

3 Likes

@Alexander24 - welcome to the community. Pennsylvania’s basic concealed carry laws can be referenced here, with more information here. There are more links on both pages with additional details.

Generally speaking (and I am NOT a lawyer), concealed carry means concealed, and you are not required to notify anyone that you are carrying.

I briefly read through all of the information on Pennsylvania’s laws, and I did not find a reference that Pennsylvania is a “duty to inform” state, but I could be wrong. If it is, you are required to proactively notify the police if you are pulled over.

4 Likes

Welcome to the family! @Alexander24 glad you’re here! Not that I would advise doing anything illegal, or out of the rules with your employer. But from watching legal defense videos, if your employer “caught” you with the firearm, and per your rules you’re not allowed; you could face civil charges, if they were to press charges for any reason. I’m no lawyer, but I havent seen a video where they say it’s a felony, but I’m sure that depends on state laws. Again, no lawyer, but i hope that helps.

2 Likes