Getting permission to carry?

The law in Georgia states that “In a vehicle you do not own, you must have the permission of the person who has legal control of the vehicle.” I am brand new to this (still waiting for holsters, CCW license to be mailed, etc.), and I’ve never heard anyone do this. I occasionally ride in other people’s cars - so now I’ll need to divulge that I’m carrying to stay within the law. I guess I’m wondering 2 things:

1. What is people’s experience doing this? Do you end up needing a different ride often?
  2. Doesn’t this go against the whole idea of keeping it concealed?
5 Likes

@Patriot-D >>> can you get a drivers license & a car ?
:us::us::us:

3 Likes

@Patriot-D Just like on others property or house or you can keep your carrying to yourself, what they don’t know cannot hurt you. I do that pretty much every day I am out and about. :us:

3 Likes

Don’t even know how that would work. Public transportation, taxi, Uber, lyft, grandma? Never heard of such a thing however not familiar with your laws.

3 Likes

That’s like Louisiana but our law is telling home owner before entering.

3 Likes

Hmm. I’ll have to research that one as I live in GA as well. I just don’t find myself in other people’s vehicles all that often.

4 Likes

Well, I looked the code up and here’s what I found. GA Code § 16-11-126 (d) 2019 states: