Employer invasion of privacy

For the record, I joined USCCA today & have been a licensed CCW permit holder in multiple states over the course of the last 21 years.

Let me set this up. I work in the automotive service industry in Atlanta, Georgia, for one of a family owned chain of dealerships. As a new hire, I read in the employee handbook (which forces you to sign & agree to the mandates therein) that employees are only allowed to have firearms in their personal vehicles as long as the employee is licensed to carry a firearm & notifies the company of presence of the firearm. This seems to be a tremendous invasion of privacy (like unto a form of gun ownership registration), especially because our vehicles are parked hundreds of feet from where we actually work, but less than 50 feet from a busy intersection, not inside a parking deck or deep into company property/inside a building, etc. Is it legal for the employer to have such a disclosure requirement?

I am aware employers can restrict CCW on their private property, but was under the impression that having the gun hidden away in your personal vehicle was no different from having it in your home.

Please clarify this for me. I thank you for your help, USCCA & community.

3 Likes

Welcome to the family and you are blessed to be here .

1 Like

My place of employment has “rules” about fire arms on the property in your vehicle, but they have no authority to search your vehicle. So we just keep them out of sight locked up.

3 Likes

It will depend on the laws of your state.

For example, I live in Wisconsin and my employer can NOT stop me from having a firearm in my vehicle even if it is on company property. I must follow all the state/federal laws but that is as far as it goes.