Can I keep my CC if I've been evaluated by a psychiatic doctor

Hello everyone, I have a question? I am a retired veteran of 22 years service. I have alway owned a weapon and trained to be a responsible gun owner. Over 9 years ago I spent 7 days receiving psychiatric revaluation. The doctor did not tell me I had to get ride of my gun. It was was not in the state I live in new. My worry is losing my license to carry?

9 Likes

Welcome to the community John. As long as you’re not psycho, you should be fine even if you are psycho. As long as you’re not the type that kills or scares innocent people you should be fine.:wink:

3 Likes

@John1365 Welcome to our community, we are glad to have you with us. :slightly_smiling_face:
After nine years why are you worried? Unless you were adjudicated mentally ill by a Doctor and or a Judge I wouldn’t worry, don’t ask, don’t tell.

8 Likes

The Lewiston shooter had his weapons despite being INVOLUNTARILY COMMITTED for a two week period last June iirc. Personal experience, deeply personal, leads me to the following sentence.
I’d say you have nothing to worry about.

9 Likes

John Welcome to the Uscca Hotel Continental,
You can check out anytime you like but you can never leave!

My serious advice is : “Don’t tell, don’t ask”.
YOU ARE FINE!
That time you were (re) evaluated was a long time ago.
Do you feel OK?
Are you solid?
Just climb aboard and enjoy the ride.

Thank you for your SERVICE John 1365 !

Warriors welcome here 24/7! OORAH!

WWG1WGA

6 Likes

It seems like a question for the issuing authority.

If there’s anything I’ve learned during the application process, answer only questions they ask, and answer them honestly.

6 Likes

Welcome

3 Likes

Not psycho, thank you.

4 Likes

We all heard about the mass shooting in MAINE. For some reason news media always paint a veteran as a threatening factor in these cases. And no, I was never been adjudicated as mentally ill.

8 Likes