Background Check Unresolved

Hi folks,

I’m a new gun owner in Nevada. Took some safety courses after receiving my gun and also plan on obtaining a CCW permit; have already signed up for class.

What’s bothering me though is that I purchased my gun with an unresolved background check. I’m worried that ATF would be knocking at my door to confiscate my guns that I’ve spent $$$$ on. I’m confident that I don’t have any major red flags in my history. A little confused why my background is unresolved.

Will USCCA be able to help my case and get a attorney to make me the rightful owner again if suddenly I’m in a position to give up my guns to ATF?

I’m a responsible gun owner just wanting to protect my family.

5 Likes

If you bought it recently, it may just be backed up March was the biggest NICS check in the history of it. I wouldn’t jump out of any buildings, just yet.

6 Likes

You should probably obtain a copy of your record. This can often be done through a police department or Sheriff’s office. It may give you an indication of what is going on.

6 Likes

This was maybe 5 or 6 years ago, (no firearm hording or back logs at the time) I went with a buddy who just got out of the Army to buy a few firearms. I have a LTC here in TX and was basically rubber stamped, no problem for me. My buddy, they said he had to wait, even after submitting the NICS check there in the store he was told some sort of unresolved thing or hangup as well. It was about 3 days later they called him and said all is cool and he could come pickup his firearm.

Were you just recently in the military or something along that line maybe? Have you moved recently? He was just back from overseas as well and didn’t really have a permanent residence established for more than about a month.

5 Likes

Yes, this was recent. Purchased early this month.

4 Likes

Thanks, Mike. I will look into that.

4 Likes