Buckshot

Just read the article on the newsfeed about buck shot. I have a lot of experience with buck shot, and one thing I learned is that every barrel has its own preference, and you need to pattern with all the brands and shot size, different brands pattern differently even with the same shot size. Case in point I bought a slug barrel, smooth bore 18.5 inches long and it only liked Remington 1 oz slugs, then the group I hunted with decided no slugs during organized hunts. I had fallen in love with the short barrel and wanted to keep using it but everyone told me it would not pattern buck shot. Our LGS knew about how different barrels liked different loads and had open boxes of all the different rounds they had, so I went and bought 1 round of every one they had and went to my range. Well the short barrel did as expected and at 20 yards I could cover the barn door, then the last round I tried was 000 buck. It was the last I tried because I never saw a barrel that could pattern with it. I was shocked, at 20 yards it had an 8 inch pattern, stepped back to 40 yards and I could put every pellet into the target. I owned a dream barrel, one that shot both slugs and buck shot. So what I’m getting at is pattern your guns and see what they like. This is what my hunting shotgun looks like now, and yes it’s loaded with 000 buck.

7 Likes

6 Likes

Yes, gotta pattern your shotgun with the shot you plan to use.

They are kind of notoriously variable, similar to .22lr rifles and which round they like

6 Likes

Where is a good source of 00 buck for reload :us:

3 Likes

I reload shotgun alot but never loaded buckshot but I have seen bags of it at my LGS.

3 Likes

Hornady Lead Shot 00 Buckshot 5 lb Box (midwayusa.com)

5 Likes

Thanks will check them out

3 Likes

Very true, my three shotguns all shoot different patterns…,Mossberg 500, Mossberg 590S Tactical, and my Kel-Tek KSG. All can shoot slugs…

1 Like

Nice piece of hardware.

1 Like