Arming/Disarming oneself when necessary

I’m relatively new to weapons and EDC a PPK.

I have to disarm/rearm at my place of business because they do not allow weapons in the building. Some businesses around here also a no-weapon policy, like doctors offices.

Could anyone point me to a video or give tips on how to disarm oneself without people noticing?

This is what I do now: I carry at 4 o’clock IWB. For me it is easiest to do all this standing up. I open my rear door, open my safe, turn my right side into it, pull the weapon and holster out as one such that it is mostly shielded from view. I then take the package to place it in the car’s safe or take it out to put it in my belt.

The entire procedure is pretty quick and I try to be really careful not to advertise it.
A car is not a holster and I feel weird leaving it there, even in a decent hidden safe. What if some thief notices me leave a weapon? It really worries me, should it fall into the wrong hands.

From a legal point of view, is someone seeing me arm/disarm considered brandishing?
How would I deal with police, should they be called? Connecticut isn’t 2A friendly - People have been known to have cows for just seeing a weapon. I’ve heard.

Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

Re someone seeing your gun, does CT require you to report to issuing authority if someone inadvertently saw your concealed carry gun?
In CA, it’s a must so I’m extra careful. It’s no longer a question of whether it’s brandishing or not.

As for your other concerns,
Concealed is concealed. YMMV.

4 Likes