AR Bolt Carrier pin

Greetings!

So, the retainer pin in my bolt carrier group scares me. When I first got the rifle, my gun dealer showed me how to disassemble and oil the group, and had trouble getting the pin back in, so he hammered it, so now it has a hammered-looking top. I still have to hammer it some to get it in, so if anything it’s getting flatter.

Since I started shooting my rifle, the pin looks corroded to me. It feels brittle to me, but it is so far staying in one piece, that does take all the hammering I have to do to get it into position.

My question is: Is this normal? Does it need to be replaced? If it does, where would I look, and what should I look for?

1 Like

If it really bothers you replace it. You could even get a stainless steel one from the hardware store. If you order it from a gun parts shop I would go ahead and get the BCG field repair kit for the extra parts to have. You want to have some resistance so that it stays where you put it but you shouldn’t need a hammer.

Cheers,

Craig6

3 Likes

I struggle with this pin every time. Last time I was about ready to just order a new BCG and call it good. Lol

If you spread it open so that it will stay still its harder to get in. If you file a “ramp” on the short side of the cotter pin it makes it much easier to get in and it will still stay put. You always want to bend the short side leave the long side straight for this application.

Cheers,

Craig6

2 Likes

Have you tried squeezing it instead of hammering it? They usually do have a bit of ‘spread’ to them and my experience has always been to squeeze the open end together and then insert.

1 Like

You can also try turning it some as you try to insert it. I have grabbed it on the fat end with needle nose pliers to gently turn it. I have one BCG that is a bit fussy with the pin. It usually works for me.

I think it is KNS Tactical that makes solid shaft pins both in steel and stainless steel. Another option to consider.

1 Like