Why you need a reload

5 Likes

Awesome “game on” video.

1 Like

If I was a police officer hunting down armed suspects to try to apprehend them, I would definitely be carrying reloads.

If I carried a 7+1 single stack…I’d definitely carry a spare mag.

When I carry a 15+1 or 17+1 double stack as a private citizen (in 20 years of paying attention to this stuff I’ve yet to see or read about a single known instance of a private citizen carrier reloading)…I rarely carry a spare mag.

(RE: Malfunctions, quite rare with good proven gear, and even when they do happen, usually a tap-rack-reasses or at most a remove mag, rack, reinsert mag fixes the problem…though you are unlikely to have that much time).

To me, this is a combination of “why you avoid everything you reasonably can” with “why I carry a double stack with good immediately available round count”

If you want a reload go for it, but, I still question the “need” aspect considering the above

8 Likes

Note to self: I am not a cop.

But, Murphy’s Law :man_shrugging:t4:

10 Likes

Call me foolish, but I frequently carry just a 5-shot J-frame. I occasionally drop a speed strip of reloads in a pocket to accompany it. Maybe 50% of the time. And even then I’m thinking that if I need the J-frame I won’t realistically be reloading it.

7 Likes

Statistics (another way of saying, real world actual, quantified) say that 5 shots will be enough for the majority of private citizen handgun carry self defense situations.

But, it seems to me, anecdotally although likely supportable by good enough stats, that there is a significant jump up in the % of situations covered, if you had 10 rounds on board vs 5. Or even 8. I say I’d carry a spare for 7+1 but I think 8 total rounds somehow seems like a lot more than 5. I mean, it is 60% more I guess.