Which handgun to buy?

I’m new to the handgun world, deciding which gun to purchase. Ill be receiving a Glock 19 down the road. Im looking for a carry, and and a home defense - fun gun. Which spot would the Glock 19 fill? And what is your suggestion for the other? I’m 63, have hunted with long guns my whole life, and recently retired (at least for awhile). Not huge hands. I’m interested in your suggestions thanks!

9 Likes

Hi Mike! Welcome to the community! A Glock 19 is a great option for both concealed carry and for home defense as well. I would recommend going to a local range that has a variety of options that you can rent and shoot so that you can see what fits your hand that best, what you shoot the best, and what you personally like the most. I will say that a Glock 19 is definitely one of the main firearms that I recommend for folks to look at and try because it is a great option. If you like that but want something a little smaller a Glock 43x is also a great option to check out. There are also comparable options from Smith and Wesson and Sig that have a great reputation as well. Ultimately it comes down to what works best for you!

11 Likes

I can’t answer for Glock, but recommend if possible renting a few different guns at a range to understand how they feel to you.
I have found trying before buying can help avoid buyers remorse later.

12 Likes

All-around good choice. However, we cannot tell you which firearm you should buy as we are not you. You should go to a range where you can rent at least several to try first. Get to know what you like and don’t about various handguns.

I prefer hammer-fired over striker-fired. I also prefer a grip that fits my hand well - which typically means double-stack over slim single-stack. That is fine, unless a wider firearm you find more difficult to conceal carry. If CC is not in your plans, then just find one that is comfortable/fun to shoot and you can shoot well and is reliable.