Which .45 to get?

No manual safety, striker fired or DAO.

Leading contenders are Glock 21 Gen 5 MOS or FN 545 Tactical.

I have Glocks and mostly shoot them, so that is a 21 plus. I also have a 509 and I like it, and I think it has a superior mounting system vs the Glock MOS and I would put a red dot onto whichever one.

Not a need.

Thoughts?

Other contenders?

5 Likes

For me, probably not real popular but the Good Ole 1911, military look a like would probably be my choice. I carried one in the Army, my dad had one, so I’ve had some experience with them as a matter of fact it the only .45 experience I have.

5 Likes

On duty, I carried a Government Model 1911, a Pachmeyer Combat Commander, then a Sig Sauer P220.

Hands down, IMHO the Sig is the best .45.

I have been carrying / shooting this Sig for 30+ years (including PD range ammo), and I have never had a jam. (I did have a feed problem with a bad magazine (since discarded), which of course is why we train).

6 Likes

If it has to be an optic-ready pistol I would go with the G21G5, if not Walther PPQ

3 Likes

I would go Glock 21 Gen 5 and purchase the Chwps plate to mount the dot, i run their plates on my Glocks.

I almost picked one up recently but bought two new Sig p320s, an x5 legion and the xten 10mm.

4 Likes

I am actively seeking to avoid those extra “do-dads” as some would call them.

No relying on the use of an external manual safety. I just want pull trigger = bang, don’t pull trigger = no bang, with the same trigger pull every time

And capacity much greater than 7

4 Likes

oooh I forgot about Walther making them.

It will have to have a dot, but, I know there are companies that will mill pretty nearly anything, and I do like the PPQ/PDP series…hmmmm

Another contender, that is

3 Likes

HK 45
USP 45
Mark 23
Are worth a look.

4 Likes

@Nathan57 I am just curious to ask why the S&W M&P did not make your list of considered choices.

2 Likes

That’s a damn good question. No reason.