When Situational Awareness IS the Problem

Today, while walking down Main Street in downtown Salt Lake, a rather seedy looking little guy walking towards me, baggy shorts, way oversized wife beater, Air Jordan’s. As he walked past, maybe 3 feet from me I studied his body language and behavior. He got about 3 steps past me, turns and yells “What the Duck Are You Looking At!”. I had to turn around and face him, not letting have my back. He paused when I turned around and yelled “Yes You MFer!”. I slowly backed away and replied “I’m looking at you brother.”. He double flipped me off and walked away talking some kind of I’ll get you smack. Whole thing lasted 30 seconds give or take.
Thinking back on it, had I not looked at, studied his behavior he may have simply walked on without being an 'A’Hole. I dunno, I wanted to know what this guy was up to but maybe I could have done something different?

12 Likes

Dress up like a homeless citizen, argue with yourself loudly, and have a streamer of crime scene tape stuck to the bottom of your foot. :+1:

16 Likes

I would have done the same thing. I usually make eye contact and try to get in peoples head. I try to read the situation. I think he was afraid of you but didn’t want to show it so he tried to act tough. I think you accepted his challenge and all ended well. If it happened to me I would think of it as a learning experience. I was there so I don’t know if I was reading the situation correctly.

4 Likes

8 Likes

Gangbangers are always looking for a reason!

Never give them one. I remember the days they used to walk around with a baby pacifier in their mouths! Just waiting for you to glance at the spectacle!
Or just a good old Biden illegal looking for an easy mark!

Sometimes an earpiece works and talking into the hand!

Disclaimer, do not attempt while wearing casual attire!

5 Likes

I have read different recommendations about this. Various recommendations have included