Tritium sights on S&W EZ

I recently bought a S&W .380 EZ performance center
( PERFORMANCE CENTER® M&P®380 SHIELD EZ® M2.0 BLACK PORTED BARREL (smith-wesson.com))

It is a good weapon when you have developed arthritis.

It is easy to shoot but I’m having a difficult time seeing the sights against a dark target.
I don’t have that problem with my S&W 9mm, .22 and PPK - and they just have simple sights. Once on target, I can hold a pattern of about a tennis ball at 25 foot. Not bad for me, since I’m relatively new to shooting.

This performance center 380 has * HI-VIZ® Litewave H3™ Tritium/Litepipe Sights.
What can one expect with that? In total darkness, isn’t one supposed to see something? S&W sent me a new front sight. It also doesn’t light up.

I almost suspect my weapon was shipped without a Tritium sight. The replacements seem to behave the same.

How can one tell whehter these are truly Tritium sights, before I contact S&W again?

Thanks for your input.

Rem

6 Likes

These I got for the M$P9 4.5"
The Tritium back sight died almost immediately after purchase. Haven’t a clue why?
They run about $130 ? and they are awesome!
So Sorry, it’s another expense but these are well worth it.
Clearing Vacant Apartments and dark Community hallways and Laurdry Facilities I relied on these babies! I got the Green front one.

Sorry, Welcome HOME REM !

5 Likes

IDK.

I wonder if some of the larger firearm brick and mortar stores have any “sights” in stock they can let you compare it to.

But do not pull out your firearm even if unloaded. When ever I need a gun shop to look at mine, I ask them in person for permission first, and have it in a box, already unloaded, I let them open the box.

4 Likes

I haven’t used these particular sights but I am a big fan of the orange ring around the tritium center. They are easy to pick up in a wide variety of lighting conditions.