This is the first time <member name> has posted — let’s welcome them* to our community!

them?

Instead of using the wrong pronoun every time, why not just repeat the member name?

What you are doing is awkward, grammatically incorrect, and would get you a rap on the knuckles from Mrs. Woodward (7th grade English teacher).

This comment would fall into the “small point” department if it were not for the insistence of the left that we all conform to their laws of pronoun usage; and your apparent acceptance of their demands.

Wow. Another one. Nobody really cares. (grammatically) Maybe you should have just introduced yourself first. :roll_eyes:

1 Like

Apparently another one to add to my on-going list…

2 Likes

I think I’m lost, I thought this was a concealed carry forum, not the grammar and spelling forum?:wink: Sometimes hard to tell these days.

I’m not a grammar expert but think them works just fine in this case. Even though I generally dislike it when people try to divide everyone into “us” vs “them”.

4 Likes

Where was, in your complaint about grammar, the joke?

2 Likes

I’m a recovering grammar nazi, but I’m less bothered by the generic “they” than I am the loss of the plural verb “are” or the contraction “there’re.” I think I hear it dozens of times every day. “There’s a bunch of email in my inbox.” “There’s a lot of colors in the rainbow.”

3 Likes

If it was, we’d be a lot busier!

5 Likes

I don’t find it very amusing that I can’t use words like he, she (and now, apparently, them) without risking offending someone. Why I can’t use the OK symbol because a couple Hitler wannabes used it as a joke. Why I have to explain to my 6 year old son why people at school called him gay because his formerly favorite hat has rainbow colored stripes on it. Etc. etc.