Risk Protection Orders
(Red Flag Laws)
Florida Statutes Chapter 790.401
Anything you say can (and may) be used against you!
The single greatest threat to your right to own a firearm is the Risk Protection Order (RPO), otherwise known as Red Flag Laws. An accusation can be made against you without your knowledge that you “pose a significant danger of causing personal injury to himself or herself or others by having a firearm or any ammunition in his or her custody or control or by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a firearm or any ammunition, and must be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific statements, actions, or facts that give rise to a reasonable fear of significance dangerous acts by the respondent.”
This post is only directly and factually relevant to the State of Florida, but Florida is not the only State with a Red Flag Law in its statutes regarding weapons.
I obtained a bound printed copy of the Chapter of the Florida Statute pertaining to “Weapons and Firearms” for $10.00 by ordering it from the Florida Legistore online. I also ordered Chapter 776 - Justifiable Use of Force for $5.00 and a bound printed copy of the Constitution of the State of Florida for $10.00, all delivered by mail without additional fees. I don’t know if other States have such resources, but it is worth researching your State.
The section pertaining to RPOs in the Florida Statute covers 5 1/2 pages, and is very informative. Of note is that merely threatening injury with or without a firearm can trigger a Risk Protection Order, and your firearms and ammo can be confiscated until you prove the RPO invalid. The Statutory language leaves plenty of room for interpretation by a Circuit Court judge, who may not be 2nd Ammendment friendly. You will almost certainly need to hire an attorney to get your guns and ammo back, if you ever do.
Be very careful what you say! You might just talk yourself (especially online where your statements never go away) out of your 2nd Ammendment rights.