The difference between training and reality

I’m new to the USCCA community and this forum, so I wasn’t sure exactly sure which category this question should be in. I feel like maybe more than one, but here goes.

We all place safety first and foremost when training with our guns and when out in the world. When we are live firing, I’m sure everyone wears hearing protection, for obvious reasons. My question is, what happens if you have to fire your weapon in a self defense situation? Specifically, there is no hearing protection being worn when we’re out and about, so has anyone been through this and can give an idea of the results of firing your gun sans ear plugs/headsets? I’m sure it’s not pleasant but has anyone suffered any short or long term effects?

Thanks for any input.

10 Likes

I have made the mistake of firing a gun without reapplying my ear protection!:flushed::skull:

Reloading, pulled the muffs up to talk to my buddies who were there and reloading as well…

Forgot to pull them back down when I stepped back to the shooting table!

It’s,… loud. As in temporarily all I could hear was a high pitched squeal of tinnitus…

Decades of uncapped headers and rock concerts have me with mild tinnitus anyway, so I can’t say that the few shots I’ve experienced without earplugs had made it any worse.

As for out and about, need to use my weapon in self defense?

The LAST thing that will go through my mind will likely be, “oops i forgot my glasses and earplugs!”

Defend yourself first, worry about the rest of it later,… even permanent hearing loss is better than permanent death.

Edit;

This is just my personal opinion and should not be taken as legal or medical advice!

13 Likes