State of MN live fire requirements

is live fire even required for a renewal in the state is MN ?

1 Like

@Derrick12 Doesn’t seem to be, but you can read for your self. I only saw a requirement for safe handling. :us:

Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit Information

REQUIREMENTS: An applicant must:
  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Complete an application form;
  • Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota law;
  • Not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system;
  • Be a resident of the county from which he or she is requesting a permit, if he or she resides in Minnesota (Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.);
  • Provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.
FEES: $100 for new permits; $75-$85 for renewals
VALID FOR: 5 years
APPLICATION: Link to application
NON-RESIDENT CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS: Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff by following the process below.
NAME/ADDRESS CHANGES: Within 30 days after changing permanent address, the permit holder must notify the issuing Sheriff’s office of the change, loss or destruction. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may obtain an updated permit at a cost of $10.
LOST/STOLEN PERMITS: Within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff’s office of the loss or destruction. The permit holder must provide a notarized statement that the card has been lost or destroyed. Failure to provide notification as required is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may obtain a replacement permit card by paying $10 to the sheriff.
RESIDENCY CHANGES: Moving to Minnesota and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?

Minnesota issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. In order to apply for a resident permit, you may need to provide a Minnesota driver’s license or state ID.

Moving from Minnesota and have a Minnesota resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Minnesota permit remains valid?
If a person with a Minnesota permit to concealed carry establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided he or she submits the above referenced name/address change form.

2020 Minnesota Statutes


Chapter 624

Section 624.714


Recent History


Subdivision 1.

[Repealed, 2003 c 28 art 2 s 35; 2005 c 83 s 1]

Subd. 1a.Permit required; penalty.

A person, other than a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, who carries, holds, or possesses a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or boat, or on or about the person’s clothes or the person, or otherwise in possession or control in a public place, as defined in section 624.7181, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), without first having obtained a permit to carry the pistol is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A person who is convicted a second or subsequent time is guilty of a felony.

Subd. 1b.Display of permit; penalty.

(a) The holder of a permit to carry must have the permit card and a driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.

(b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person demonstrates, in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized to carry the pistol at the time of the alleged violation.

(c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature in the officer’s presence to aid in verifying the person’s identity.

(d) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.

Subd. 2.Where application made; authority to issue permit; criteria; scope.

(a) Applications by Minnesota residents for permits to carry shall be made to the county sheriff where the applicant resides. Nonresidents, as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 42, may apply to any sheriff.

(b) Unless a sheriff denies a permit under the exception set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3), a sheriff must issue a permit to an applicant if the person:

(1) has training in the safe use of a pistol;

(2) is at least 21 years old and a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States;

(3) completes an application for a permit;

(4) is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the following sections:

(i) 518B.01, subdivision 14;

(ii) 609.224, subdivision 3;

(iii) 609.2242, subdivision 3;

(iv) 609.749, subdivision 8;

(v) 624.713;

(vi) 624.719;

(vii) 629.715, subdivision 2;

(viii) 629.72, subdivision 2; or

(ix) any federal law; and

(5) is not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.

(c) A permit to carry a pistol issued or recognized under this section is a state permit and is effective throughout the state.

(d) A sheriff may contract with a police chief to process permit applications under this section. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, the sheriff remains the issuing authority and the police chief acts as the sheriff’s agent. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, all of the provisions of this section will apply.


Subd. 2a.Training in safe use of a pistol.

(a) An applicant must present evidence that the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal application. Training may be demonstrated by:

(1) employment as a peace officer in the state of Minnesota within the past year; or

(2) completion of a firearms safety or training course providing basic training in the safe use of a pistol and conducted by a certified instructor.

(b) Basic training must include:

(1) instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use;

(2) successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise; and

(3) instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force.

(c) The certified instructor must issue a certificate to a person who has completed a firearms safety or training course described in paragraph (b). The certificate must be signed by the instructor and attest that the person attended and completed the course.

(d) A person qualifies as a certified instructor if the person is certified as a firearms instructor within the past five years by an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department’s standards.

(e) A sheriff must accept the training described in this subdivision as meeting the requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), for training in the safe use of a pistol. A sheriff may also accept other satisfactory evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol.

1 Like

Seems that you do AND need to prove it again prior to renewal.



1 Like
Thought I’d just throw the book at you.

1 Like

I can not open the book. :roll_eyes:

That’s because it’s a link to a very expensive service of online law books that require a subscription. It’s just a joke because I thought it was a bit over the top to post that Looooooong legal document rather that a link.

1 Like

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: Funny man.