Slings for an AR-15

Alright… so I got an AR-15, a basic S&W M&P 15 5.56 NATO, about a month or two ago I want to say. Anyways I’ve shot it a bit but I’ve been wanting to get a sling for it. I’ve done research on slings and I like the idea of all slings but what I’m looking for in application is to be able to carry it around the farm and not having to worry about it bouncing around but still allowing me to quickly deploy it. Same would go for a SHTF situation. So for this reason I was leaning towards a 3-point sling. But I’d like to hear what all you guys have to say about this topic and please give links. :grin: I’m new to the world of AR-15s as it is but I’m excited to get into it.

2 Likes

I found the 3 point sling to be burdensome while in the military, it was too busy and it covered the mag release on the rifle.

I personally prefer a 2 point sling. I like MagPul 2 point slings because of the quick adjust buckle.

Here is a link: https://www.amazon.com/Magpul-Two-Point-Sling-Adjust/dp/B00JAI14FI

You just have to have the hardware to mount the sling to your liking. I also stow the sling around the stock with a rubber band when not in use.

5 Likes

Are you carrying a AR-15 because you are expecting 4 legged trouble or 2? Seems like a handgun would be better for chores than a rifle? That being said I have the MagPul slings @James mentioned on my AR’s and have been happy with them for years.

4 Likes

I don’t expect any 2 legged trouble really. The area around my property is pretty quiet. I’m thinking more 4 legged like coyotes and foxes. We had foxes come after our chickens and I’d like to have the ability to have something on a sling and easily accessible. Our .22 doesn’t have sling attachments otherwise I’d just use it.

3 Likes