Should I buy an AR15 or is there a similar weapon that is better?

I am a Marine Corps veteran and the last time I fired a rifle was in 1975. I was an expert with both the M14 and M16 and thought the AR is a very similar platform. I own a Sig P320 RX Compact with a Streamlight 7a. I bought that so I could use it for both home defense and concealed carry. Actually,I just bought the gun a year ago as my wife never liked the idea of having firearms in the house. I forced the issue last year because I don’t like the direction our country is heading. I have not really kept up to speed with all of the various platforms available today and was looking for advice. Whatever weapon I purchaseI want to be able to use hollow points with as I am concerned about over penetration. Any advice would be appreciated.

21 Likes

Depending on your situation and your concern with overpenetration, there are some very capable Pistol Caliber Carbines on the market in 9mm, .40 and .45 caliber.

10 Likes

Long article, but objective:

7 Likes

This is a very loaded question w/o knowing more about your specific situation than should be shared online. Some of the reasons the AR platform is so popular/ successful are-
A, familiarity. From our time in service it’s second nature.
B, modularity. Longer barrel, shorter barrel, foregrip, pistol grip, bipod, sights, stock, trigger, even caliber can all be changed relatively easily without breaking the bank.
C, availability of parts & (usually) ammo. Keep adjusting until you get what you want. I’m constantly playing ‘tactical dress up’ with my AR platforms. Home defense, plinking, hunting/ varminting, you can do pretty much anything.
Unless you live in a AR hater state it would be my recommendation.

7 Likes

To be honest, I love my Ruger 556/223
That’s my fav