Shooting glove or device to minimize impact of recoil

I am a beginner and want to practice and train. I have a partially torn ligament in my shooting hand. Can anyone recommend a shooting glove or device to cushion recoil? Also any advice on pistols with low recoil appreciated. Thanks so much.

9 Likes

Welcome to the group! We were just discussing recoil in a different thread.

There are lots of options. Along with a glove, there are handguns with interchangeable grips, such as revolvers, where you can fit soft rubber grips. There are also low-recoil pistols available. One Iā€™m familiar with and, is great to shoot, is the M&P 380ez. It gets its soft recoil by being a medium size pistol, in 380ACP, using a locked breech, hammer fired design.

My wife is very recoil sensitive and she likes her .22 revolver. Thereā€™s been a lot of discussion and disagreement about .22 as a defensive round, but some modern ammo like Federal Punch meet the FBI penetration recommendations, even with short barrels.

Iā€™m sure others will have a lot to add, but welcome.

7 Likes

Thx for your kind welcome and information which I will look into immediately.

2 Likes

Iā€™d stay away from any of the ā€œlargerā€ calibers. Maybe 9mm but certainly anything north of there, at least until your injury has healed.

6 Likes

Brother Joseph 488) nailed it.

Welcome Joseph560,
I have a Titanium rod in my dominant Gun arm
Mostly never hurts but after a (50) rd. Box of .(44) Yee-ouch!, Can relate.
My suggestion for you is Tommy Copper ! Copper is a healer and support
Relatively inexpensive wristlets, Forearm, gloves Heat Infrared wrapā€™s (pricy but works)
Firearmā€™s: A possible is a .22 Magnum Revolver (I 've only seen Cowboy models-- Heritage
comes to mind maybe Rossiā€“Good weapons or to relieve more recoil their rifles, more support
less pressure on your arms n wrists. Excellent rifles/ Lever Action (Winchester style)
Joseph 488 also got the Federal PUNCH Great Ammo, I like it!