Glove practice

Are any of you practicing with with nitrile gloves? I thought of that yesterday since we are wearing them when we go the the grocery store.

4 Likes

Good reminder @Derek.
Everyone who wears them should at least try once to draw and dry fire the firearm.

As we know, we must practice any time we use different clothes.

3 Likes

No, because I’m not wearing gloves when I go into the grocery store, however to @Jerzees 's point I do practice with the cold weather gloves that I regularly wear Oct - Feb.

5 Likes

I’m saving mine for when I need them–I have worn them when teaching–doing chamber checks bare handed is something I’d like to avoid, and picking up brass afterward bare handed isn’t something I prefer to do.

2 Likes

I started training with gloves 2 weeks ago. There is no way to get them off the hand quick, so better train with them. I’ll tell you that loss of tactile sense is a big challenge.

1 Like

How thick of gloves are you using that you loose the feeling when using your firearm?

1 Like

The regular medical glove type. Do you not feel the effect?

1 Like

The nitrile gloves are not an issue for me–after handgun hunting in WI for years, I’ve learned to make do with gloves as a necessity.

1 Like

I have the normal ones and some that are 7 mils thick in my truck

The only disadvantage of wearing medical / nitrate / latex gloves is that they may be sticky to garment and handgun grip.
Try it if you are carrying and wearing the gloves. Do not be surprised at the moment you have to draw the firearm :point_up:

1 Like

Many may disagree with me but here me out first.

Wearing gloves all the time when you are out is a BAD idea.

Gloves of this type are meant to be put on while performing a task and then taken off and disposed of. If you put them on before leaving the house and not take them off until you are back home, EVERY surface you touched while wearing the gloves is contaminated with whatever was on the surfaces you previously touched.