Shells down the shirt

I am pretty new to shooting. Every time I go to the range a shell ends up down my shirt and it burns! Any recommendations to help prevent this other than wearing a turtle neck?

6 Likes

This worked for me …

Amazon.com : SUN CUBE Sun Hat for Men, Wide Brim Fishing Hat Neck Flap Cover Men Women, Hiking Safari, UV Sun Protection Summer Gardening Beach Camping UPF 50+, Gray : Sports & Outdoors

4 Likes

Wait until you do laundry, especial[y the dryer. :smiley:

8 Likes

I usually don’t have any issues shooting at my indoor range with a pistol even though I am left handed and the shells eject to the right, hit the plexiglass barrier and bounce either behind me or onto range in front of me.
Shooting a rifle on the other hand, depends on the rifle. My Sig Sauer M400 ejects shells at an angle that when they bounce off the plexiglass barrier they keep on going behind me. My Smith & Wesson AR 22lr is THE worst to shoot as the shells eject, hit the plexiglass barrier and come back right at me. Keep your eye protection on at all times as well as your hearing protection. As for me, when I go to shoot the 22 rifle I wear a Cabela’s canvas long sleeve shooting shirt and learned real quick (after a couple of hot brass kisses to my neck and back) that I also needed to button up the collar for a more pleasant shooting experience.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community Matthew! You didn’t mention what you were shooting. I think the shells must have bounced off a partition between lanes - is this correct? Just try a couple of other ranges to see if you still have the same problem.
As far as rifles are concerned, there are bullpups that eject downward.

4 Likes

Welcome

4 Likes

Welcome to the Community :handshake:

If those shells are from the handguns you are shooting - replace recoil spring, check your ejector and if you are using red dot, be sure it doesn’t block free ejection of the casings.

5 Likes