Security Training

Hey everyone. I’m new to USCCA threads, but not new to USCCA. I spoke with someone about the topic of training that USCCA does not offer here and he said I should bring it to the chat line, so here I am.
So I have been working in security for several years now, and I have started building a security ministry at my church. USCCA has a couple of great books on the topic of protecting houses of worship, but not a lot of practical training as the primary focus is on proper firearms training. But protection is not just limited to knowing how to use a gun. I built a class on conflict resolution that I taught at my church. I also have in the works other topics such as keeping children, safe at the church, radio etiquette, knowing the structure of your place of worship as a security team, When to implement and how to handle lockdowns, recognizing a threat, along with several others. I think that these are essential things to have a handle on, especially to protect the house of worship. But some of them extend beyond the protection of a church, such as conflict resolution. It has real world potential that can de-escalate a situation before a gun becomes necessary. I want to know what peoples thoughts are on the topic and if other people agree with me that this would be a good thing for USCCA to offer, perhaps even build some training classes for instructors to be able to teach these things to other church security members.

3 Likes