Purchasing a gun in Texas,transferring to CA

I wanted to get some info im on my way to texas on a trip and wanted to purchase a gun something nice, im assuming its going to be off roster gun. I was going to transfer it through FFL but i wanted to get info so i have no issue transferring it to CA

4 Likes

@Gilbert33 Welcome to the community!

2 Likes

@Ronald150 Thanks

1 Like

Good luck… :zipper_mouth_face: :face_with_raised_eyebrow: :scream:
You better buy a gun which is complaint with the State you live in… unless you are not CA resident yet planing to move there.

BTW… Welcome to the Community :handshake:

6 Likes

Hello and welcome @Gilbert33 I wasn’t aware CA allowed anything off roster. @BeanCounter, any help?

5 Likes

@Karacal only way to get a hold of one in CA is through a private party transfer but i never heard of anyone doing it from out of state

4 Likes

@Jerzees Im a CA resident but was planning on doing a private party sale and transfer it through ffl without any magazine over 10rnds

3 Likes

Remember, there are limitations from who you can buy off roster gun. You cannot just buy it from any private seller. Magazine is not the only issue here.
Check your local laws.

5 Likes

Welcome to the community!

FFL to FFL is the way to go to ensure everything meets draconian rules. If this particular transaction isn’t, they’ll let you know.

6 Likes

So, would you need to call your CA FFL from Texas or the FFL in Texas would need to call the CA FFL to verify that its transferable?

4 Likes

Not exactly sure and I don’t want to say, “it depends.”

Twice I made out of state purchases, I provided FFL info and I didn’t hear from my FFL until it the firearms arrived and ready for paperwork to start 10-day purgatory period.
One was for a state-compliant AR. When the box was opened, the FFL guys looked at each other and one said, “would this work?” referring to the “finned” pistol grip. Made me think the two FFLs probably didn’t talk much.

4 Likes