Permanent Resident - Constitutional Carry in FL

So, I am a permanent resident (green card holder) I own a handgun, but I do not have a conceal carry permit. I understand that in July 1st, permitless carry will be official in Florida. Will I as a permanent resident (green card holder) also be lawfully able to conceal carry a weapon without a permit?

Thank you,

7 Likes

I Am Not A Lawyer

House Bill 543 (2023) - The Florida Senate (flsenate.gov)

_h0543er.docx (flsenate.gov)

Good question. I don’t have the answer. But if you click the 2nd link above, you can read the last version of the bill. Search for 790.01 to get the rules for carrying.

Paragraph 790.013 is the part that deals with carrying without a permit. It doesn’t mention citizenship or residency.

Paragraph 790.015 deals with non-residents, and seems to state that a permit is still required.

You’re in a grey area as a resident but non-citizen. I want to say you’re covered under 790.013 so long as you have a valid identification, but I’m not an attorney. I’ll be curious to see how this law is interpreted and enforced.

4 Likes

Welcome @Jonatan1!

The permitless carry law states that in order to carry concealed without a permit, you must meet all requirements to get a CWL in Florida.

Being a legal resident alien does not prohibit you from getting a CWL, so you should be able to conceal carry without a permit starting July 1st provided you meet all other requirements.

Remember that there are 2 places you are not allowed to conceal carry without a license: 1) within 1000 feet of a school, 2) property of a religious institution.

9 Likes

And no carry, with or without the license, in the Post Office, airports, seaports, any other federal institution, including nature centers in parks, police stations, jails… Its a long list!

5 Likes

You’re looking good per this:

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0700-0799/0790/Sections/0790.06.html