No gun zone

So, as I dropped my neighbor off to work today at her school (left my gun at home, yes I’m a good soldier) BUT, I wonder why schools are a NO GUN ZONE?? Why aren’t they NO CRIMINAL WITH GUN ZONE?? OR something similar…I thought, if something bad went down, they have taken the gun out of my hands and I won’t be able to participate to stop a bad guy. It seems, states like to make criminals out of law abiding citizens when it comes to gun laws…sorry for the rant but I think the laws need to change!

23 Likes

Schools are a no gun zone because of a Federal law, the school protection act. (Hint: the law makes it illegal to have a gun within 1000’ feet of the school, so you break it by just driving past while armed, unless you have a concealed carry license or permit.) That law exists because too darn many people are so stupid as to think that criminals obey laws. By definition, criminals don’t… DUH!

22 Likes

I live within 1000 feet of a public school.
Am I breaking the law by keeping a gun in my home?

6 Likes

No, you don’t.

[…]
" The prohibition of firearms in school zones does not apply if any of the following provisions are met.

(i) on private property not part of school grounds; "
[…]

That applies to home or other private property that is within 1000 feet of a school but isn’t public property.

12 Likes

No, you are not on school property.

4 Likes

Federal Gun-Free School Zones Act