Can anyone help me to understand what’s the gist of the new concealed carry permits that’s going into effect Jan01 in Tennessee?
My understanding is if you take 8 hour class and qual range you get the enhanced permit, which is what we have currently. The conceal carry only is cheaper, only few hours of class time with no range qualification. So really in all honesty the current requirements is the best option. Cost 100 for permit, plus cost of class.
The ccl only is like 35 dollars, but with more restrictions
So if one currently has the Concealed Carry Permit, will it be downgraded to what will cost $35? Or will my Concealed Carry Permit become the Enhanced Concealed Permit?
And thanks John
From what my mom has told me, her permit will become the enhanced permit due to her already having it for a few years and she’s in Putnam Co.
Will become enhanced
Current permit is called handgun carry permit. You can open or conceal carry. After the 31st, if you are in process of getting permit, you have the choice of getting the enhanced permit. That permit is the same as current permit. The new permit is conceal carry only. You have several added restrictions on where you can carry if you get this permit. It’s cheaper because you can take an online class with no range qualification.
If you have a permit currently, it will become an enhanced carry permit.
This was the state legislature’s compromise to the far left reps from Memphis and Nashville. This is what we here got instead of constitutional carry. I believe the governor would have signed constitutional carry, however, it didn’t get out of the committee.
Thanks again John and Tennessee for your response.