Men training Women

Greetings All. I’m new here. I’ll come to the point. I’m specifically addressing the ladies.

I’ve been a Soldier for almost 30 years. I’ve trained men and women to shoot and do not believe there is anything distinctly masculine about shooting.

Why do ladies want “ladies only” training environments? The crux of the matter is I’m considering training my girlfriend who has no firearms experience at all. We just bought “his and hers” 9mm pistols yesterday.

Sooooo, ladies as I’m going to be her primary instructor what sensitivities would you wish your male instructor to keep utmost in your first experience with a firearm?

This may be a bit like closing the barn door after the horse bolted, but as an Army instructor there was no choice for student or instructor. These were the orders; students had no choice of instructors and vise versa.

10 Likes

Welcome to the family brother @Jason327 and I have the confidence that you can teach men and women and get the same excellent results.

6 Likes

Welcome to the Community :handshake:

That’s the “ladies thing”… perhaps they want to train in kitchen environment? :wink:
I’m just kidding… I personally spend more time in the kitchen than my wife. :pinched_fingers:

I never understood this as well, especially on the Community. We have a lot of women here but you can hardly find them involved in discussions.

However, fortunately I see good amount of ladies attending ranges, training and classes. It’s not 50/50… but at least they don’t have any problems running drills between male shooters. :clap:

Good luck teaching your girlfriend :v: Hopefully she catches the bug :muscle:

3 Likes

Welcome to the show. I don’t think it’s a ladies only thing. Been doing classes for 20ish years and have noticed it’s more of the partner to the ladies that is the issue . My observation.