LTC on school premises in Texas

I am a lawyer in Texas (though not a criminal lawyer) and I have been researching this issue in Texas considerably or the past few months (for my own purposes) when my school’s administration seemed to have incorrect assumptions about how this all works. I found USCCA’s summary page inadequate and I discussed with their support long enough to realize they didn’t understand the issue and they suggested I contact one of the USCCA attorneys. I looked for one in my area who dealt primarily with weapons crimes and didn’t find any - all the ones I looked at were general criminal lawyers, not specializing in gun crimes. So, I found the leading gun crime attorney in this area and it turns out he was associated with US Law Shield. In any event, he turned out to be a lobbyist who was quite active in the recent legislative changes in Texas in this area and was quite informative.

I am shocked by how confusing these laws can be and also how wrong and ill informed most everyone opining on these issues can be - even orgs like USCCA or schools or law enforcement themselves. There’s really no substitute for talking to a lawyer with your specific situation in mind.

In any event, this is what I’m learning - not legal advice, just conveying research information I’ve gathered for academic purposes…

The first question is whether it violates Federal law…

What I learned was that the general prohibition against guns in schools is the Federal Gun Free School Zones Act. It is a pretty scary proposition even driving by a school with a handgun where it applies. However, it has a very important exception - if a state has LTC, the school it doesn’t apply to LTC holders. This is a primary reason I got my LTC. So, I believe I will not be violating FEDERAL law as an LTC carrier even on campus. But, that’s not the end of the inquiry…

The next question is whether it violates Texas law….