Carrying at high school football field away from school?

So, if there is a “school owned” football field but it is not on the same property as the school, is that considered “School Grounds?” It’s not in a “school zone.” Can I carry legally?!

2 Likes

What state? What permit(s) do you have?

The most likely answer is “no”.

The states I have checked don’t say that the school and, IDK, “property connected to the school” are off limits, or anything like that, they have all been something to the effect of any property owned/leased/used by the school and a school owned football field, in the states I have checked, would be off limits.

Not that I am a lawyer or anything (I’m not)

3 Likes

Massachusetts - I am an CCW permit holder…

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/ma-gun-laws/

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIV/TitleI/Chapter269/Section10

Whoever, not being a law enforcement officer and notwithstanding any license obtained by the person pursuant to chapter 140, carries on the person a firearm, loaded or unloaded, or other dangerous weapon in any building or on the grounds of any elementary or secondary school, college or university without the written authorization of the board or officer in charge of the elementary or secondary school, college or university shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. A law enforcement officer may arrest without a warrant and detain a person found carrying a firearm in violation of this paragraph.

This is just me, but I would not. If I really wanted to, I would ask an attorney in the state first

5 Likes

Some states CCW CCL laws are so lengthy, it might cover / go over that question. Depending on the state.

1 Like

I would say no, it’s still a school sponsored event on school owned property. I would think the same rules apply. :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes