Let's talk about road rage - open discussion

When you find yourself in a Road Rage situation while driving, IS ROAD RAGE CONSIDERED A THREAT TO YOUR LIFE? WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS TO YOUR SITUATION?
DOES IT WARRANT DEFENDING YOURSELF?
WHEN DOES IT BECOME NECESSARY TO DRAW YOUR WEAPON FROM YOUR VEHICLE?
WHAT DO YOU DO IF SOMEONE STARTS SHOOTING AT YOU FROM THEIR VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING?

2 Likes

Road rage is not a situation you want to find yourself in, however, it does give you a means of escape. Do not engage with the other driver and remove yourself from the situation.

The criteria for the use of lethal force in self-defense is imminent, unavoidable danger of death or grave bodily harm (in most states). In your vehicle, you can drive away.

14 Likes

But what if the Road Rager follows you to your destination?

4 Likes

I am a city driver. So I am around a lot of crazy all the time. Pretty much have seen everything. And I agree completely with @Dawn that you just have to drive away from the crazy. It’s going to happen cause people live in a world now where they are always in a hurry and will do whatever it takes to get there and get pissed if someone or yourself is in there way. See it seen been in it and drive away from it

5 Likes

IS ROAD RAGE CONSIDERED A THREAT TO YOUR LIFE?

Can be. If they’re just hanging their head out the window, screaming and yelling…I’m not too concerned. The minute they become violent, meaning using physical force to cause grave bodily harm whether by the use of a weapon or otherwise…then yes, it certainly could be considered a threat to my life.

WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS TO YOUR SITUATION?

Only experienced words…words don’t get me too excited most times. The right answer is to wave, smile, and drive away. I can neither confirm nor deny waving with a middle finger, tossing about some witty colorful language and catch phrases upon occasion. However…I’m pretty sure there was a smile involved most times. :smiling_imp: