Keep training even with low supplies of ammunition?

With all the COVID, RIOTS, PROTEST, LOOTING, ELECTION YEAR, one has to ask…”Do I still train at the range while Ammunitions are low/unavailable?”

I’m still new to firearms. I’ve trained for about 2 years now with hand guns, got my CCW, Joined my local gun club, joined USCCA and NRA. I dry fire daily at home. I want to go to the range but I don’t want to use up all my ammo. Do I go and use it or hold it? The earliest estimated delivery date for 9mm ammo is end of October start if November.

Suggestions?

3 Likes

I bought some very similar pistols to my 9’s in 22lr. I train with those.

I did make one mistake once and bought a 22lr pistol to do this and the safety switches down for safe, the opposite of EVERYTHING else I have. So, I NEVER use the thing. Could you image the muscle memory issues with this! ?

4 Likes

One…
Buy ammo and train more on the Range.
9 mm available on line. Perhaps prices are not great but at least we are still in business.

2 Likes

95% of your draw stroke does not involve engaging the trigger.

Amateurs practice until they get it right.

Professionals practice until the CAN’T get it wrong.

NAIL each step of the draw until you can’t get it wrong.

Cheers,

Craig6

11 Likes

@Fizbin Exactly the reason I picked up my new Glock 44 yesterday. Same feel and function as my other Glocks (all 9mm) but chambered in .22LR.
9mm has vanished, even online. I am currently on several “waiting lists” to purchase a few cases. Luckily I already have around 5,000 rounds in my personal stash.
But I easily purchased 5,000 rounds of good quality 22LR ammo online yesterday. .08 cents/per round. That will keep me at the range despite the lack of my “favored” round.

4 Likes

I would submit that you be VERY careful in how much effort you invest into using 22LR or similar as training rounds.