Hornady Critical Defense .223 is the V-max varmint round?

After watching some of the videos, people are making comments about it being varmint rounds from the V-max, and not having enough penetration for home defense.

I’m a little new to this so what are your thoughts?

3 Likes

I’ve got poor internet, so what’s your question?
If you look at the Sierra bullet website, they do not recommend match bullets for hunting applications. Some varmint bullets act like big game hunting bullets from short barrels and reduced velocities. Gallon water jugs are cheap. Buy both and do your own comparisons.

1 Like

That’s what Hornady bills it as, fast expansion and limited penetration.

Hornady.com » Ammunition » Rifle » 223 Remington 55 gr FTX® Critical Defense®

223 Remington 55 gr FTX® Critical Defense®

Item #80270 | 20/Box
US Patent: 8,413,587

Designed for short-range defensive situations, a new breed of FTX® bullets are at the forefront of the Critical Defense® Rifle ammunition line. The bullet’s patented Flex Tip® not only helps keep the nose cavity free from clogging as it passes through heavy clothing but also helps the bullet expand at low velocities.

Made for SBRs.

4 Likes

My question was is a .223 critical defense round a V-max varmint round, and if so is it good for home protection?

1 Like

What bullet weight is each one? Do they show the same muzzle velocity and energy for both of them?
Better yet. Is the velocity still the same for both at distance??

better format.

2 Likes

It looks like a slightly different tip design but if it still expands as fast as the Vmax it is likely to under penetrate at .223 velocities.

I use Vmax bullets in my 300BLK but that bullet was designed for 308 velocities and has much more controlled expansion and better penetration at the slower 300BLK velocities.

1 Like

I have the 73 grain of Critical Defense coming in the mail.