Getting a firearm back after a shooting

QUESTIONS:

1. If I am involved in a shooting where I am justified, released by the local LEO, or otherwise exonerated for the shooting, can I reasonably expect to ever have my firearm returned to me from “evidence”?

2. Does my legal protection as a USCCA member extend to legal representation to ensure that my property is returned?

NOTES:

a) I realize there are certainly differences based on state and jurisdiction. I am a NV resident and routinely travel to WA and OR. I would not violate any laws, however, it is possible that I could find myself in the situation of using a firearm that had been securely and legally stored when in a jurisdiction where I could not “carry”, but I had accessed a firearm legally and safely stored and within the guidelines of the laws for that jurisdiction.

b) I have in the past kept a backup carry firearm, preferably a duplicate of my primary.
However, I just gave my son and daughter almost all of my firearms so they can be armed in this uncertain time. I raised and trained them to respect and handle firearms safely and it is legal for me to gift them with these and for them to own them in their legal jurisdiction. In the interim I have a pistol available, but not my preferred firearm for CCW.

This gives me the “opportunity” to carefully select my next CCW pistol and I find I’m interested in something like the Staccato C/C2 Duo or Wilson Combat Glock 19. I am reticent to spend two to three thousand dollars on a pistol, light, and optic that will be confiscated should I be required to use it to defend myself or others. If there is a reasonable chance I might have my property returned I may consider it, otherwise I’ll probably buy something that I consider to be “disposable”.

c) I am NOT asking for advice on what handgun I should buy!

d) I am NOT asking for advice on caliber selection or other considerations for “women’s” guns and calibers.