Finding the perfect CCW

I know everyone has a preference when it comes to this and I’m finding that even though I am pretty new to the world of guns I already have one I love to shoot at the range but would like to find ‘my love’ in a more concealable version. So my husband has a WWII service pistol in pristine condition, Browning HI Power 9mm. And it is amazing. I love the weight in my hand because it’s all steel, very little recoil and I’m not marksman but this gun does not seem to require perfect form from me to hit my targets. I love the stopping power of the 9mm and also because of a study the FBI did on the best defensive caliber and they decided 9mm. And I love the 1911 design, I know this gun inside and and out, literally, as I spend hours getting to know it and cleaning every nook and cranny. So easy to disassemble and operate!

So here’s my quest, I want to find a CCW that is preferably: All steel (I understand this adds weight but I’m ok with that because of how comfortably it sits in my hands), 9mm, 1911 design that is more compact, oh and obviously reliable! Also I wish it wouldn’t break the bank but I’ll still take recommendations and see if I can find them at gun shows.

Okay, I know that’s a lot but I appreciate any recommendations anyone can give!

Thanks!

3 Likes

Check out offerings by Kimber, they have several 1911 style 9mm handguns, some of which are a little more compact for concealing.

3 Likes

I’ve shot some Kimbers - they are a very sweet shooting gun… nice design features.
@Christina I’m a Glock Girl in general, so my recommendations aren’t going to be very much in line with what you’re looking for, but there are lots of other folks on here who have other preferences so I’m sure you’re going to get excellent options to look at. @Kelly @45IPAC @Sheepdog556 @james @KenM or @Dawn might have some ideas for you.
Welcome to the community!

3 Likes