Duty to Inform Over the Phone

This is my first time starting a thread so here goes.

My question is this: if a law enforcement officer asks you over the phone if you are armed do you have to tell them? What if they are not acting in a law enforcement capacity? Here’s the backstory.

I carry concealed in the state of MD at a private school. (It is legal. We hired an attorney to write a legal opinion before I went down this path.)

I had a phone conversation today from a MD state trooper who is interested in enrolling his kid. He wanted to know our school security protocol. His first question was whether or not I am armed. I avoided the question and told him we don’t disclose that publicly. He reiterated his question and seemed to want to have someone armed for the active shooter possibility. We discussed active shooter protocol. The conversation ended cordially and he seemed satisfied with what we were doing.

After I hung up, I wondered if the duty to inform an officer applies in this circumstance. If we were in person, I would have had to inform him (but honestly hadn’t thought through how I would respond if he were in person under those circumstances. I guess a phone call was a good dry run to make me think through this question from the standpoint of a parent who is a LEO.)

There is no duty to inform LEO in MD unless asked. Had this happened in person, I would have had a duty to inform. Over the phone he did not assert his LEO right to this information.

He didn’t exactly ask if I was armed presently. He was discussing this from the standpoint of a parent not in his capacity as LEO.