Double-Action Carry Gun?

For those who are new to shooting, Double Action / Single Action can be somewhat confusing. I know it took me a bit to understand the concept when I started learning about firearms.

Here are some high-level descriptions and suggestions from Blogger John Caile about DA Pistols:
https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/blog/double-action-carry-guns-make-training-fit-reality/

Would you carry a DA pistol as your carry weapon? If you currently carry one, what makes this your gun of choice?

2 Likes

Pretty simple.

Double action peforms two functions, it both cocks and fires the pistol with a single pull of the trigger.

Single action only fires.

I carry double action revolvers but only single action semi autos.

5 Likes

I occasionally carry a DA revolver. I would consider a DA pistol, depending on the size.

2 Likes

I have carried DA revolvers and pistols. A few S&W revolvers over the years and a Sig P238 was DA/SA. That first shot had a heavy pull unless you cocked it first. I remember my training officer getting all over my rear for not decocking before holstering every time.

1 Like

I have 3 DA. 2 I have carried. The third, a revolver, is too big to truly conceal.

1 Like

I have carried DA in a Sig P220 (45) and S&W revolver. The S&W is a smoother operating DA as it is the general nature of S&W’s revolvers. My DAO P220 Sig has a point in the pull where the hammer is first lifted off its rest and then there is a range where I can hold the action just above hammer release; where I can again back off or commit depending on the needs of the moment. In most DA hammer-fired systems I’ve used, the longer pull gives me that chance to decide along the way. I’ve found dry fire practice aids me in discovering how far I can controllably pull the trigger without firing. Again, this gives me the ability to back off and not fire or be very ready to complete pulling the trigger and send my round downrange.