Conceal carry question

We hold our weekly church services in the gymnasium of one of our local YMCA facilities. My pastor has given me explicit permission to conceal carry during services. We hold services during times that the YMCA is closed for normal business. The YMCA has a “no concealed firearms” sign on the front entrance. Will I violate this YMCA policy if I conceal carry during our church services?

1 Like

Welcome @Michael377 to the forum!

IANAL… however you are on their property, and the property is posted. So, in my opinion, yes, you are violating their building policy.

Now, depending on the Locality that you reside, how is that enforced, and does it have to be a specific verbiage to be good? Another way, you could be “trespassed” at a minimum, and possibly lose your license on the other end.

1 Like

Thanks for the response. And yes, that is what I figured. It makes sense.

1 Like

I am not a lawyer and the below should not be taken as a legal opinion

As I understand Florida law, the school prohibition is for the building. It doesn’t matter what activity is taking place there. Other prohibitions are also tied to the location, not to the activity.

The real answer is in the state legal code. Read it and get a lawyer to interpret it when necessary.

2 Likes

Here is the pertinent part of 18 U.S.C. 922(q)(2) (and 921 for definitions) with respect to possession of weapons in school zones:

(2)
(A) It shall be unlawful for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm that has moved in or that otherwise affects interstate or foreign commerce at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.
(B) Subparagraph (A) does not apply to the possession of a firearm—