Concealed firearms can be carried without a license, in a vehicle, under Florida law as long as a person is 18 or older, and the firearm is securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. F.S. § 790.25(5). This extends to the carry of a firearm in a person’s vehicle on the grounds of a school or at a school activity; however, school districts are free to adopt written and published policies that waive this exception for purposes of student and campus parking privileges. F.S. § 790.115(2)(a)(3). This means that, while firearms in vehicles on school parking lots are legal under state law, an individual school may have a policy that makes it illegal to have one on the lot. Further, even in a parking lot of a school that does not have a policy prohibiting firearms on the property, firearms still may not be taken out of the vehicle or into a school building. Finally, it is important to remember that under the federal gun free school zone act, unless you have a CWFL, you are committing a Federal crime punishable up to 5 years in prison if you carry a firearm within 1,000 feet of a gun free school zone. So, if you are not a concealed weapons and firearms licensee, avoid driving in or near school zones.
Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building (firearms may not be taken out of the vehicle and while firearms in vehicles on school parking lots are legal under state law, an individual school may have a policy that makes it illegal to have one on the lot) [Fla. Stat. § 790.115(2)(a)];
Any college or university facility;
Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
Any person who is trespassing upon school property is prohibited from possessing any weapon. “School property” means the grounds or facility of any kindergarten, elementary school, middle school, junior high school, secondary school, career center, or postsecondary school, whether public or nonpublic;
Agreed, I don’t think Utah enforces it as a “Primary” offense. I imagine if you get involved with the Feds, FBI, Home Land Security or such they’d charge you under the Federal Statute but local police don’t seem to enforce it.
This information is to let anyone know all this information is being shown on U TUBE, and I
requested for these facts from USCCA, not just in pieces, together.
Florida is coming up next for Constitutional Carry, but it is not all there, very weak and flawed.
Right behind all the Constitutional Carry, the (School Zones), Gun Free Zones Laws came in as a flood,
making their demands. Not knowing all the facts and laws, a person can be arrested and be charged with a felony and charged heavily and be put in jail. Federal Laws and state laws can apply. State of Florida is packed with many schools and you can not be near a school property in a 1000 feet or you can be arrested and charged.
We must be aware of any gun laws apply written to conceal and carry a firearm. I do not want people to
be arrested. Please keep your CCL updated, you will need it. Constitutional Carry is being destroyed.
Florida update: These items listed are some of the things desired for an individual to have before
obtaining their permit/licenses to carry a firearm.
They are concerned about the untrained people in Florida and the Amendments were listed to be
considered in Florida’s Bills.
Biggest concern is increased restrictions to a amendment in Florida, like schools and a 1000 Feet barrier, including streets and sidewalks, that are restricted to anyone with a firearm.
California SB2 is a large example of a Bill they are trying so pass.
The Democrats wanted gun owners to:
Obtain $100,000 worth of insurance if they “opt out” of the CWFL program and carry concealed.
Be prohibited from possessing homemade firearms.
Be prohibited from carrying in grocery stores, gas stations, music venues or any religious institution.
Be prohibited from open carrying at concert venues and polling places. (Under current law, open carry at polling places is already prohibited, as is concealed carry at polling places.)
Be prohibited from carrying firearms in cars.
Submit to background checks for private sales or when a firearm is loaned to family members for hunting or recreation.
Take a firearm safety class and pass a written exam.
Provide a written statement from a Florida physician certifying they are mentally fit and free of drug abuse.
Pass a mental health exam and drug screen.
Take and pass a one-day firearm class that includes a live-fire test.
Establish secure storage for guns and ammunition, which would be inspected by a law enforcement officer.
Submit to fingerprinting and a background check.
Be limited to carrying only one firearm at a time.
Be prohibited from carrying a firearm if convicted of domestic violence. (Florida law already prohibits someone with a domestic-violence conviction from carrying a firearm.)