Cleaning ammo

I’ve always been picky about ammo used for training, however after Covid and huge price changes I started lower quality expectations.

Recently I’ve bought factory ammo (I used daily deal, hard to be refused) which I’ve never used before.
During range time I noticed that one of my handguns started jamming almost on every other round. Sometimes it was “out of battery”, sometimes “failure to feed”, sometimes “I have no f@#$% clue what just has happened failure”.

First thing I found were my dirty hands after I load those rounds into magazines. Once I examined the ammo it didn’t shine as all other brands I had been using so far.

I decided to spend some time and clean each of remaining 950 rounds… :rofl: :neutral_face: :grimacing: :flushed:

Result was great. Better look, better feel and better feeding… meaning no more malfunctions.

This is what I used:

Towel after cleaning few rounds

Before (left) and after (right)

My question to ammo gurus → any idea why the ammo was dirty outside and if my procedure was ok? Perhaps I should use different chemicals? I’ve been using Acetone to clean firearms before painting and mounting accessories and thought it would work in this case as well.

5 Likes

That’s some dirty ammo for sure. I question the use of acetone though. I realize that you were probably careful not to saturate the rounds and that this is hopefully an isolated case.

I’m thinking a tumbler with maybe walnut shells would be less tedious.

5 Likes

I wouldn’t ever use anything but a dry cloth/rag becasue I’d worry about damaging the primer. Also, I don’t care if it’s dirty

5 Likes

I don’t have a problem with it if you don’t. I am not A guru, but I do reload. I have never used Cleniang ammo.:rofl:
I wouldn’t use anything but a rag on self-defense ammo.

4 Likes

Ah yes ammo maint. yep periodically here also.
:us:

3 Likes

I used towel soaked in the acetone and cleaned each round in my hands.

5 Likes