Can you be a instructor without doing USCCA or NRA

Can you be a instructor without doing USCCA or NRA

What kind of instructor? Iā€™m a volunteer 4H rifle instructor. I went through a certification for 4H.

1 Like

Anyone can teach anything. The questions are: Can you deliver training that includes a certification others seek? Can you get paid for the training you deliver?

5 Likes

I am looking to do some basics training of new gun owners and some home safety.

Do I really need the NRA or USCCA to start?

I think what I am trying to learn is that I am a Flight Instructor and I could NOT do the job without the FAA testing.

Is guns not like that

You will not be able to teach concealed carry classes without becoming an instructor with the USCCA, NRA or DOJ. Some states may have other organizations that have to certify an instructor to teach those classes.

I would suggest reviewing the laws of your state when it comes to firearms training. You might get path to a resource at your state regarding firearms education by visiting the USCCA Reciprocity Map and going through a link there for concealed carry. It wonā€™t get you directly to the information youā€™re looking for, but it will get you in a general ballpark to start.

5 Likes