Best 2A support organization? (NRA vs. GOA vs. FPC vs. etc.)

The main question: Which is the best organization for defense of the 2nd amendment. And by “best” I mean, who does the most work in regards to measures that actually have teeth?

The backgrounder for the question: I understand that simply having lots of law-abiding gun owners, and common use of many types of guns is itself a good measure. So, I don’t have anything against soft forms of outreach like marketing and advertising and engaging a larger number of people into the 2A community.

However, I am a military veteran, have a cousin who is a state trooper, and my wife and father are attorneys. From profession and association, I have become familiar with the exercise of power as it manifests in executive, legislative, and judicial forms. Law is language that is backed by force. Like me, some of you have been on the sharp end of the spear as a matter of profession. Like my wife and father, some of you have been at the handle of the spear, directing where it is pointed. The latter is more of what I am interested in.

Broad and deep protection of 2A rights rests on the kind of words we back with force, so it seems to me the most important job of any 2A organization should be in three main ways that are directly tied to levers of power:

1. Facilitating the passage of law supporting the 2nd amendment.
  2. Filing lawsuits in defense of the 2nd amendment.
  3. Facilitating judicial appointments of constitutional conservatives over activist types.

If I am going to send any of my hard-earned money to a group that does this, who can claim to do the most and the best vs. who can claim to hold a lot of cocktail parties in DC with no chance of moving the needle? How many lawsuits did FPC file, versus NRA or GOA? Are there others I should consider? I’d like to put some support behind a group that is aggressive, proactive, pragmatic, and above board.

So, who ya got?

3 Likes