AR build?

I have never built fire arms before but am generally mechanically inclined.

Where is a good place to learn the first steps in determining if this is something I could or should do?

5 Likes

@Martin36 It is more like a selection and assembly process. Plenty of good resources online to help you get started. Here is and example:

The only item that has to be handled by a FFL is the bare lower-receiver. All the other parts can be ordered online and shipped directly to your home. Set a budget, select your parts, and take your time in assembly.

7 Likes

Another helpful member told me about Palmetto State Armory. The have kits available. I probably won’t assemble one myself but it’s worth a look.
https://palmettostatearmory.com/

8 Likes

They have a lot of YouTube videos on how to build an AR. I am going to purchase my own AR15 soon. But eventually I want to build my own also.

6 Likes

@Johnnyq60, I went with a friend of mine to the range Sunday. He has one that he built and let me shoot it. It was my first time shooting an AR15 and it was amazing. It also solidified my decision to get one. Maybe Santa Claus will bring it for Christmas :grin:

7 Likes

I hear you @NickC I can’t wait to get mine. I have shot ARs, AKs etc. just never owned my own. That’s a Christmas present to myself.

6 Likes

Jeff Thanks for the links. I will read through the links and if I build one I will let you all know how it goes.

4 Likes

Thanks Nick. I have shopped tgere and will try them as well. Before I buy anything to build I want to make sure I know what to look for.

5 Likes

Martin - go with the Palmetto State Armory site for upper and lower kits (you can always find deals elsewhere if your good at web searching). Just remember, your lower has to go through an FFL. Upper kits can be delivered right to your door unless you live in Kalifornia, New York, New Jersey, Chicago