Why not carry a full size?

Before I start, I’m a believer in carrying what you will carry. If that means you carry a .380 pocket pistol because of how easy it is, good on you for carrying.

The reason I ask this is over the past few years the G19 has been the gold standard carry gun that’s the perfect size for carry and self defense.

This made me research the M&P compact. So I looked at the M&P compact (which is considered a serious competitor with the G19 for carry), and the only difference between the M&P Compact and M&P full-size is half an inch on the grip.

The way I see it, I’ll take the extra half inch for 3 rounds.

(That being said, I think S&W has these guns set up where the Subcompact, and Compact half mags that extend to the full size gun which makes them a tad more versatile).

So, why not carry a full size? I carried a full size M&P yesterday with 0 problems.

33 Likes

I’m pretty new to carrying, so I am hyper-cautious about printing. Once I get more comfortable carrying a subcompact all day everyday, I may very well consider exactly what you are suggesting. Full-sized guns are easier to shoot fast and accurate and have greater capacity. I just don’t don’t have confidence that I could effectively conceal it all day every day. And if it proved to be significantly less comfortable than my subcompact, I would probably be weak-willed enough to opt for the comfort.

I do a lot of training with my carry gun, and I carry extra mags, so I am confident that in the vast majority of self-defense situations it would do the job. If I find myself in a protracted gun fight, I may regret the limited capacity and need for mag changes. Since protracted gun fights are an extremely small percentage of self-defense situations and since self-defense situations themselves are pretty rare, I feel good about playing these odds.

10 Likes