What justifies lethal force?

Yesterday, a protestor as part of a larger and contentious gathering sprayed a security guard in the face with a can of mace. The guard shot the assailant and killed him.

Is lethal force justified in such circumstances? I get that a jury would apply a Reasonable Man standard. I’m just curious if there are similar cases or law on the matter.

6 Likes

In a perfect vacuum, IF mace/pepper spray is generally known to be non-lethal force (which I believe it is).

Then responding to the application of non-lethal force with deadly force may be difficult to justify.

7 Likes

First welcome to the family.

I’m not a lawyer and every one on here will tell you. I don’t play one on tv either. There is a lot to this I’m sure we have not heard or seen yet and unfortunately most news is full of crap. It all depends of what and why the protester did it for and so forth. Yes it’s not lethal force to use spray that’s a fact. So just not sure why it came to the point of him being shot from all I have read and seen.

7 Likes

At what point in time was it decided there was mace in the can…not acid ??

7 Likes

Probably more important than if it was believed to be acid, or if the recipient had a deadly pepper allergy will be…

Was the person spraying the pepper a non-violent protestor seeking racial equality and unity through the peaceful demolition of the American system OR was he one of those violent right wing racist???

The DA will certainly need to know in order to make a decision on this case.

11 Likes

Welcome to the community @Robert555

I haven’t seen/read the story yet, but I’m sure a lot of it will come down to what the security guard articulates about what was going on at the incident (in addition to what other witnesses report).