What does "Reasonable Force" mean to you?

I am a defense attorney in Los Angeles, CA. I represent a lot of people in self-defense cases and currently have a case that I need your opinion on.

My client was originally charged with attempted murder. At a hearing, the judge agreed that my client had a right to self-defense but stated that the force used by my client was excessive and beyond what was needed. So the judge reduced the charge from an attempted murder to a voluntary manslaughter. We are in trial court and have filed a motion challenging the previous judge’s ruling. I believe the force used by my client was adequate and permitted (he was attacked by 4 people and shot one of them 6 times). I am curious as what you think what the definition of “reasonable force” is?

Thanks, and I look forward to reading your responses.

2 Likes

Not enough information given to respond meaningfully.

6 Likes

Highly subjective and depending on one’s 2A views.
As for me, what would an Average Joe do in a similar situation?

I guess six shots fired on one of the assailants was an issue. IMO number of shots fired, as is, is not an indicator of excessive response.

Edited to say subjective, not objective. Sorry.

4 Likes

Welcome to the Community! I look forward to any knowledge or legal insight that you care to share with us that will further aid us in being responsible gunowners.

5 Likes

Hi Nathan,

I kept it vague on purpose. However, here is a little bit info that might help: