Deadly Force Justified in CA

In a scenario where an unknown person rushes you aggressively, forcefully and quickly but shows no other sign of motive or means is it legal to shoot them in CA? I know its not justified but just confirming for a family member who felt that:

“If someone is coming at me and there is no way out they will be met with force. That’s is a threat to your life. Subjective as it may be. Lawyers will argue for or against it. It’s a life or death situation that I pray we never have the necessity to deal with. But don’t be naive.”

I said you should not engage he said you should. Any thoughts?

As you think about the situation, recall the recurring advice from John Correia (Active Self Protection): Do not ask can I? or should I?; the correct question is must I shoot?

8 Likes

Let me rephrase.

That amount of information is not enough to give a legitimate response or attempt at an answer.

I am not a lawyer and cannot interpret the law or given legal advice. Generally, nationwide, the idea behind justified lethal force in self defense is a reasonable fear of imminent serious bodily harm or death, you didn’t create the scenario/initiate/be the aggressor/etc, and it’s not safely avoidable through non-lethal means.

You’d have to stipulate a lot more of the facts and details around this case to get into meaningful discussion, otherwise (hell even with more info), the best anybody can do is “maybe” or “it depends”. I’d go with “probably not”, but there isn’t enough info to say.

Ask a lawyer and bring more facts of the scenario

6 Likes

Okay I appreciate the feedback. Yes this is a hypothetical situation, might look something like this.